AMA votes to continue its evaluation of assisted suicide

The AMA, which has long opposed physician-assisted suicide, is in the midst of a reevaluation of this position. A change would have enormous consequences because the views of medical organizations are often relied upon when legislatures and courts consider the issue in various contexts.

As noted on this blog recently, the AMA’s Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs issued a strong report recommending that the AMA retain its opposition to physician-assisted suicide. Earlier this week, however, the AMA House of Delegates voted not to accept that report and decided to further reevaluate the issue. The issue may come up for a vote at the AMA meeting in June 2019.  Here is a story on the House of Delegates decision.

Richard Myers

Richard S. Myers, the Vice-President of UFL, is Professor of Law at Ave Maria School of Law, where he teaches Antitrust, Civil Procedure, Conflict of Laws, Constitutional Law, and Religious Freedom. He is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Kenyon College and earned his law degree at Notre Dame, where he won the law school's highest academic prize. He began his legal career by clerking for Judge John F. Kilkenny of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. Professor Myers also worked for Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue in Washington, D.C. He taught at Case Western Reserve University School of Law and the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law before joining the Ave Maria faculty. He is a co-editor of St. Thomas Aquinas and the Natural Law Tradition: Contemporary Perspectives (Catholic University of American Press, 2004) and a co-editor of Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy (Scarecrow Press, 2007). He has also published extensively on constitutional law in law reviews and also testified before Congressional and state legislative hearings on life issues. Married to Mollie Murphy, who is also on the faculty at Ave Maria School of Law, they are the proud parents of six children - Michael, Patrick, Clare, Kathleen, Matthew, and Andrew.