Richard Doerflinger on the Charlie Gard case

Here is a link to Richard Doerflinger’s analysis.

developments in the Charlie Gard case

Here are a couple of news items about developments in the Charlie Gard case. Here is a story discussing a recent medical exam that was conducted in preparation for a new hearing in the case.  Here is a story discussing Charlie’s parents’ objection that the lawyer appointed to represent Charlie is a supporter of assisted suicide. Here is a very good piece by William McGurn.

Dr. Mary Lemmons, UFL President, asks the following questions about the case:

“After two British courts and the European Court of Human Rights have denied the right of Charlie Gard’s parents to pursue potentially life enhancing treatment for their son, they now wait for a fourth decision. Why have the British made their pursuit of potentially life-enhancing treatment for Charlie so difficult? Could it be that British practitioners have become so accustomed to total control over their patients that they resent anyone who dares to challenge their judgments?”



Wisconsin’s Unborn Child Protection Act

Wisconsin’s Unborn Child Protection Act gives the state “the legal authority to assist substance-addicted, pregnant women with their addiction, thus protecting both the mothers and their unborn children.” (The quote is from an article noting a press release issued by Wisconsin’s Attorney General; the article is available here.)

The Wisconsin statute was held unconstitutional by a federal district court judge in April 2017 and the same judge enjoined enforcement of the statute pending the appeal. The court of appeals refused to stay the district court’s injunction pending an appeal.

Wisconsin recently won an important victory in the case. The state, arguing that “the ‘epidemic crisis’ of prenatal substance abuse poses a substantial challenge for the States as they seek to carry out their sovereign responsibility of protecting children from either dying prematurely or being born with addictions, birth defects, or long-term health problems,”  sought a stay of the lower court’s injunction. On July 7, 2017, the US Supreme Court stayed the lower court’s decision pending consideration of the statute’s constitutionality by the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit. Such an action by the Supreme Court is relatively uncommon and suggests that the federal district court’s decision may not ultimately be upheld on appeal.

commentary on the Charlie Gard case

Here are links to two particularly insightful comments on the Charlie Gard case. Here is a very good piece by Melissa Moschella emphasizing the importance of parental rights. Here is an analysis of the ethical issues from the Anscombe Bioethics Centre.

“Physician-assisted suicide: Dead in some states, routine in others”

Here is a link to a good piece by Richard Doerflinger on the status of assisted suicide in the US. He notes that the momentum in favor of physician assisted suicide has stalled but that in states where physician assisted suicide is legal the practice is “more hidden from public view and even routine.”

LifeTech conference, Saturday, 16 September 2017, Cedarville University

Interested in how IT and technology can help the pro-life movement?  Students and faculty in all fields are welcome to attend LifeTech’s annual conference on Saturday, September 16, 2017, at Cedarville University in Ohio.  This is the fourteenth annual conference conducted by LifeTech, an organization of engineers and software developers seeking to expand the use of technology in the pro-life movement.  More information about the conference can be found at:  Directions to Cedarville can be obtained using this destination address: 251 North Main St., Cedarville, OH 45314-8501.  For more information, contact John O’Neill, LifeTech president, at 937-280-5696 or e-mail